What I am Listening To (At This Moment)

I’m happy to be known for my eclectic taste in music. I consider myself well-versed in a variety of genres and absolutely love to find myself lost in music and transported to an alternative reality. The following five songs are the ones that I seem to be listening to more than most over the past few days. It will likely change next week because that is how I roll. I love discovering new (or new to me) music and I really enjoy reading these type of posts and writing them as well so that seems as good of a reason as any to share what I am currently listening to at this moment.

LANCO – Greatest Love Story

Every so often, I come across a song that manages to suspend time when I hear it for the first time. Greatest Love Story is the latest song to hold this honor. It’s a simple song with simple lyrics conveying a simple message, which is what makes it an amazing song. Greatest Love Story likely resinates with me because I’m such a sucker for lyrics that promote an us vs. the world mentality when it comes to love. Life can be messy, unkind, and completely intoxicating. We can only hope we’re lucky enough to have someone by our side, their hand clasped with ours, and ready to jump into the unknown.

Stevie Wonder – Uptight (Everything’s Alright)

This song never fails to put me in a good mood and it’s one of my favorite Motown songs to showcase my sweet Elaine Benes-inspired moves – whether alone in my kitchen or on the dance floor. Everybody smiles when Stevie Wonder pipes through the grocery store sound system, which is why I really think Stevie Wonder might be the key to bipartisanship in our country. If I ever run for office, I’ll be sure to get permission to use his songs at my campaign rallies. Things may get a little weird when I Just Called to Say I Love You begins to play but I have no doubt that I’ll recapture the crowd with Superstition.

The Cars – Moving in Stereo

I had the hook of this song as an ear worm last week and I couldn’t place it for the life of me. Then one night, I hummed a few bars to Clay and he instantly guessed Moving in Stereo. Likely because there was a phase during college when he was obsessed with The Cars Greatest Hits album. Seriously guys, it was always in his car CD player (remember those?) and seemed to provide the soundtrack for at least six months worth of dates. And that folks, is why we’re a perfect match. He gets me and I get him. It’s kismet. And since Moving in Stereo is forever tied to the iconic scene in Fast Times at Ridgemont High, it’s fitting that this song reminds me of our college days. :0

Jackson Browne – Doctor My Eyes

Truth be told, I love most of the songs on Jackson Browne’s debut album – Saturate Before Using – but I seem to be listening to Doctor My Eyes the most as of late. I grew up with my parents listening to Jackson Browne (and a multitude of other magnificat singer/songwriters) and The Load Out/Stay falls easily within my Top 20 Favorite Songs Ever. Like most teenagers with little interest in alcohol-based extra-curricular activities, I discovered an appreciation for 70’s folk music during my primitive years and for that, I couldn’t be more thankful. And don’t worry, I became very interested in alcohol-based extra-curricular activities in college at a more age-appropraite time.

Elaine Paige and Barbara Dickson – I Know Him So Well

Man – the 80s were a peculiar time, weren’t they? There was actually a musical produced about chess and the cold war. Not that I’m complaining because if Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus from ABBA hadn’t collaborated with Tim Rice on a concept album that eventually became said musical, we wouldn’t have gems like the one above. It’s schmaltzy.  It’s not really that great. And it is so incredibly deliciously 80s.

_________________

What are you currently listening to? I love recommendations…please share! And if I’m not a fan,  I promise that I won’t publicly shame your taste in music. At least, not too much.

9 thoughts on “What I am Listening To (At This Moment)

  1. Charlotte April 5, 2017 / 11:30 am

    This song by Lanco is so pretty ❤ Thanks so much for sharing… Great choice of songs here! My dad is convinced that Jackson Browne stole his gf in college, and he never got over it and was very upset with me when I went to see him in concert once, HA!

    XOXO

    • Karen April 5, 2017 / 1:37 pm

      Ummm – that is an amazing story! Sadly, no famous artist (music or otherwise) stole a girlfriend away from my dad in college.

  2. San April 5, 2017 / 1:13 pm

    That definitely is an eclectic taste… but there is nothing wrong with this! I listen to a wide variety of music, too… just nothing “artifical”… I like real instruments and voices.

    I am currently listening to my 90’s alternative/grunde playlist. That’s where my ❤ is…

    • Karen April 5, 2017 / 1:38 pm

      I’m with you on the artificial aspect – although, there are a couple of totally auto-tuned songs that are guilty pleasures of mine.

  3. Beth Kondrick April 5, 2017 / 1:48 pm

    I love the variety here! There is nothing wrong with that at all! I’ve been listening to a lot of old school reggae music as I reminisce about a trip to Jamaica we took a year ago.

  4. ohbeehave April 5, 2017 / 5:53 pm

    That song by Lanco is beautiful! I hadn’t heard of these before today, but great choices. I love the Stevie Wonder song “Isn’t she lovely” – I don’t know if it’s called that, it’s just the opening lyric (I think) 🙂 I’m a sucker for good lyrics.

  5. Lauren Becker April 5, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    Thanks for sharing! I like listening to a variety of music too. One my way home from work I was listening to Maren Morris’ album which I just LOVE.

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  6. Alexandra April 8, 2017 / 12:07 pm

    A Tout Le Monde by Megadeth. It’s way more hairband and less heavy metal than their other songs. Plus French = classy, duh.

  7. Callie April 8, 2017 / 12:54 pm

    I’m going to have to check all these out! Always looking for new music!

Do you have something to say?

