No Longer the Diet Coke of Karen

It’s not secret that I haven’t felt like I’m operating at my best since moving to Texas last summer – still functioning but certainly not at 100%. Maybe it’s the cedar fever. Maybe it’s because we left an amazing atmosphere at our previous duty station. Or maybe I’m not just meant to live below the 30th parallel north. Whatever the reason – I had felt like the Diet Coke of Karen soon after arriving to the Lone Star state. Perhaps was isn’t even the fault of Texas and I’d been unfairly placing blame on the second-most populated state in the union. After all, many people love it here. Maybe it was me the entire time. But you know what? I think I am finally starting to emerge from the fog. It’s lifting. Could I actually be beginning to bloom here?

To call what I went through depression is a disservice to those who have been diagnosed with the often-debilitating disease. Failure to bloom isn’t in the DSM-5 and to be honest, it feels a bit icky to be writing about it when so many people are truly suffering around the world. To complain about not feeling totally like myself at a place the government paid to move my family seems unnecessary. And I’m sure I’ve rolled my eyes many times over the years in regards to someone lamenting about their struggle to adapt to a new location. I probably sighed too because I tend to be a big sigh-er. Needless to say, I’m not exactly known for my empathy. But I’m working on it, though. I promise!

No make-up, hair not brushed, and one of my happiest moments so far this year.

Something has shifted over the past few weeks. I’m walking taller. I’m 10 pounds lighter (literally and figuratively). And I’m smiling more. I’m not going to lie – it feels freakin’ amazing. Admittedly, there are a handful of external forces that have contributed to my blooming that I’ll discuss at later time but I finally feel like Karen again. Hi guys! <waves enthusiastically> It’s been awhile.

Clay’s sister and her family are in town visiting us from the east coast for their Spring Break. We’ve been having a great time showing them around the San Antonio. It really is a cool city rich in history, culture, and food. Now that I am no longer the Diet Coke of Karen, I am appreciating San Antonio quite a bit more. And you know what? That’s pretty damn cool.

13 thoughts on “No Longer the Diet Coke of Karen

  1. Kim Airhart April 12, 2017 / 11:38 am

    Welcome back Karen! I can relate to what you say about not feeling like yourself. We all go through it at times. I think. San Antonio looks beautiful.

    • Karen April 13, 2017 / 6:48 am

      It is beautiful…I feel like I didn’t give it a fair shake this past fall.

  2. Charlotte April 12, 2017 / 12:08 pm

    I get this. Completely. Sometimes we are just inexplicably in a funk and it’s hard to see the good when you just don’t feel right in a particular location. Sometimes it has less to do with the physical location and more to do with where we are in life, but whatever the reason, I’m so glad you are beginning to feel like your ol’ self again and I look forward to following along. I’ve never been to San Antonio but have heard great things! Xoxo

    • Karen April 13, 2017 / 6:48 am

      It really is a fun city!

    • Karen April 13, 2017 / 6:47 am

      Thanks Jen! 🙂

  3. Eli Pacheco April 12, 2017 / 1:30 pm

    I hope you won’t discount those blues just because others suffer to what we perceive as more severe degrees. You’re showing great empathy, but also reserve some for yourself! I am happy to see your journey arriving where it did by the end of your post. Awareness of yourself is crucial to good living. It’s my first time here (Peaceful Posse representin’), and I look forward to more visits!

    • Karen April 13, 2017 / 6:47 am

      Thank you for your kind words!

      • Eli Pacheco April 14, 2017 / 9:12 am

        Glad I found your place!

  4. TheBethMN April 12, 2017 / 2:20 pm

    I’m so happy to see you’re starting to feel more like yourself! And I think it’s ok to let yourself feel those feelings when they happen, but yay for feeling more like Coca Cola Karen instead of Diet Coke Karen!

    • Karen April 13, 2017 / 6:47 am

      Thanks Beth! If only Coca Cola Karen didn’t have 9 teaspoons of sugar in it. 🙂

  5. mividaocupada April 12, 2017 / 9:23 pm

    Love your honesty! I go through periods like this too. Spring seems to be the season of change and new beginnings for me, just like the season is meant to be 😉

    • Karen April 13, 2017 / 6:46 am

      I’m glad I am not alone! 🙂 What’s funny is I love winter but here in TX, there isn’t much of one. Maybe I suffer from the reverse Seasonal Affective Disorder and become down when winter weather isn’t cold. Ha.

Do you have something to say?

