A Not-So-Smooth Transition

Last month, I turned off the television, took out my curlers, and put the chocolate candy back in the pantry (along with all the other outdated stay-at-home-mom stereotypes) and jumped feet first back into the employment pond. An opportunity presented itself that was just too good to pass up. So now I find myself working from home in a field that I studied in graduate school and  actually get paid for my expertise. And it feels great to be working again.

Not that my transition hasn’t been met with some growing pains – I’m slowly finding my groove, which explains my radio silence on here for the past month. And probably why we can’t eat off our floors (side note – I am seriously considering a Roomba…any thoughts?). Because my work is project-based, I am still figuring out the best way to work from home and not feel guilty when I am not working. And now that we are mere days away from summer vacation, I am trying to schedule my days so I can meet deadlines, not ignore my children, and still do all the summer activities that makes the break from school oh so special. Not that I am putting pressure on myself or anything. Of course not. It’s fine. IT’S FINE!

 

But enough about my shortcomings of juggling it all. So what have we been up to for the past month?

We learned our children have become lightweights. One morning when it was in the mid-50s, the kids insisted on wearing winter gear when playing in the backyard. Safe to say, they’ve adjusted to Texas just fine. Meanwhile, Clay and I are dreaming of colder climates.

We’ve spent time exploring the Guadelupe River.

River hiking is quickly becoming one of my new favorite activities.

Our neighborhood pool has been open since March

I suppose that is one perk of living in central Texas.

We attended a Military Ball along the Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio.

We frequented the new In & Out Burger that opened near our house more times than I care to admit. And while I do love me some In & Out, I like Shake Shack better. #eastcoastforever

Baby girl finished her inaugural t-ball season.

And the little guy finished his fourth soccer season.

We’re taking advantage of the longer days. After we put the kids to bed, Clay and I find ourselves enjoying cocktails on the back deck. We watch the sun set and discuss important affairs such as Russia, healthcare, and where is Scott Bakula?!?

This almost-12-year-old girl gave us quite the scare a couple of weeks ago and we prepared ourselves for the worst. But we are ecstatic to report that Lucy is doing well and recovered from a severe case of heat stroke.

Okay, so I think now we’re all caught up. I hope to be writing more frequently again…I sure do have a lot to say! Until then….

Okay. One more…

3 thoughts on “A Not-So-Smooth Transition

  1. I think it’s awesome that you have found a job in your field that allows you to work from home. 🙂 You have to be able to do things for yourself and this is it. 🙂 Oh and you looked stunning for the ball!

  2. Yall have been busy bees! How amazing to be able to go back to work! I’m going to live vicariously through you for now 🙂 And that flying pool picture is my fav. Glad your tribe is doing so well!

Do you have something to say?

